Coding for Kids

malf

I frequently hear educators and business leaders encouraging kids to get into computer coding, yet schools (where I live) appear to be delivering very little content at all.

I sense there is some expertise in this area on this forum, so I'm asking the question: How to we introduce kids to coding in an interesting and useful way?

(Perhaps there are different answers for Under 10s and over 10s?)

Thinking back to when I was a kid (10ish, self taught), what got me in to coding was games and the ability to make my homework easier (keeping in mind that this was (ahem) quite a while ago - before PCs and video games, but after punch cards).

Recently, my nephew took some summer camps on app design which he was very excited about. When I pressed him about it afterwards, it wasn't coding per se. It was using a program to select from predetermined choices as to the form the app (a game) would eventually take. But...he was excited about his contributions to the end product, so I think that he would have found it interesting and relevant to go back one step in the process and learn about some of the programming.

Linda

I frequently hear educators and business leaders encouraging kids to get into computer coding, yet schools (where I live) appear to be delivering very little content at all.

I sense there is some expertise in this area on this forum, so I'm asking the question: How to we introduce kids to coding in an interesting and useful way?

My kids started with Scratch - an excellent (and free) educational intro into programming from MIT for kids between 8 and 16 yrs.

https://scratch.mit.edu/

If a kid plays Minecraft, and it seems like most of them do these days, then there are a lot of coding oppurtunities. My kid plays, but he is too young for coding, but I have read about how many kids branch into coding to mod Minecraft. Google minecraft code modding.