OOBEs and scientific research

Hello all,

I'm new to Skeptiko and the forum as well, so if the question was already addressed, please do let me know where I can find the information. My question is regarding the evidence for OOBEs :

The interesting issue about the scientists opposing the OOBE phenomenon being related to the non local consciousness is the fact that they say they are able to replicate it by stimulating a specific part of the brain and create the same "floating", out of body feeling. But the point is the following :

- The OOBEers say that they can perceive the scene from a different vantage point. Does the stimulated trials result in the same ? If yes, then they simply prove that the consciousness is non local !

- If the "out of body" feeling they create is just the feeling and not the same caracteristics as in the NDE situation for instance, then we are not talking about the same thing !

I would argue that what really important is, is the phenomenon produced and not HOW it was produced. Anyone who can perceive things from a different standpoint as the body confirms non local phenomenon and how this was done (by itself or by stimulating the brain) is not really important, IMHO. It's the nature of the phenomenon that really counts.

But the actual question I'd like to ask is this : There are also people who claim they can provoke OOBE at will, if I understand well.

Sam Parnia wanted to set up a very clear research scenario where he placed images on the top of places impossible to see from a regular angle, unless the perception happens from above the point where they are. He wanted to test this during an NDE situation but he couldn't get any results mainly due to the limited number of occurences. But :

- Would someone living such an extreme situation be interested in those images ? Or rather their own body or the action around ?
- We don't really know the nature of such a possible perception. Do those images really matter ?