Question Regarding Human Enhancement/Neuroscience

Hello,

I was interested in joining these forums with the hope that some of you may have a background in Bio-engineering, Human Enhancement, or Neuroscience, as I was interested in raising a question I feel has rather important implications. As I am an expert in none of these fields, forgive me if I'm asking a rather basic question.

My question is regarding utilization of technology or genetics to enhance the abilities of the human prefrontal cortex. Given the ethical implications of such advancements, I was curious if research in such an area could be worked on or is theoretically feasible. If it is possible, are there scientists out there willing to work on these areas in other countries? I am familiar with some types of genetic engineering that have major implications for humans (such as significantly improving the memories of fruit flies), but I have no idea how far along scientists are to making such adjustments (either genetically or via technology) in humans, or whether such research has been banned in most countries. I imagine banning such research would be quite problematic, as one could be assured that at least some countries must be researching such areas (and likely with far less idealistic motivations).