We aren't souls in jars

I'm a newbie. I've had this idea bouncing around in my head and this forum seemed like the best place to leave it.

If you take dualism too far it just become monism again. "We are only our bodies" is just as flawed as, "We are only our souls."

There are many real world examples that support the body itself being apart of you conscious system.

"If you lose your leg are you less of a person?" is a rhetorical question that assumes a "no" response. But all you have to do is read the personal account of amputees to realize the complexity of the situation:
“When I woke up from surgery, I felt an incredible sense of loss,” said Jana, a young woman who lost her leg as a teenager due to cancer

“Everything has changed,” said Robin, who is deeply grieving over the loss of her leg. “I am now a completely different person, and I wasn’t ready to not be who I was. I lived in short A-line mini skirts. My legs were me in the physical sense. They were my sexual expression. They were my self-confidence.”

There is often a deep feeling of loss connected to losing a limb, and though people can learn to accept their new body, the loss is still there.

Why else would people sacrifice so much for prosthetic and transplants? Prosthetic can take years to get used to, and the process is often painful and always expensive. Transplants require immune suppression drugs, exposing the patient to potential fatal infection. Why would people risk to reform their body if there wasn't something in the body itself?

This desire could be explained by social pressures or ease of mobility, but outside forces can't explain the subjective experience of phantom limbs. The flesh is gone but its spirit remains. A leg has a ghost that lingers in a desperate attempt to keep the body complete.

And like a ghost, the more traumatic the amputation, the more likely one will have a phantom limb.